Gil Frank Invite At Kimberly

Saturday, May 22, 2021 at Pepermaker Stadium. Results.

Kimberly Head Coach Greg Kroncke and his staff hosted the annual Gil Frank/Papermaker Invitational at Papermaker Stadium. The meet is named after long time teacher, coach, and athletic director at Kimberly High School Gilbert E. Frank. Fox Valley Lutheran, Freedom, Kaukauna, Little Chute, Notre Dame De La Baie Academy, West De Pere, Xavier along with host Kimberly competed on a very hot day in Kimberly. Freedom edged out host Kimberly 157 to 152 for the team title. Six event records were broken in the meet: Grace Hambel [Freedom, 400], Anna Fauske [Kaukauna, 1600], Kaukauna's 4x8 relay team, Madeline Zirbel [West De Pere, HJ], Eliza Aitken [West De Pere, PV], and thrower Kayla Behnke [Kimberly, Discus]. In the photos above provided by each team from previous meets are Linnea Willer [L] and Kayla Behnke [R].
Teri Schwamb from Little Chute had set the previous discus record of 136' 08 in 2003. Kayla Benhke launced a throw of 144' 10 to break that record. In the shot put event Linnea Willer of Freedom won the shot put with a throw of 42' 00.00. Little Chute's Tess Keyzers still holds the SP record at the Gil Frank Meet with a distance of 49' 03.50 [2017]. The photos above were provided by the staffs from Kimberly and Freedom and are from meets prior to the Gil Frank Invite.
High Jump
West De Pere's Madeline Zirbel [left and center] won the HJ [5' 05.50]. Her jump broke the old record of 5' 05 previously set by Laura Salm of Little Chute in 1988. Olivia Van Zeeland [right] from Kaukauna finished 2nd in 5' 04.
Horizontal Jumps
Kylie McCormick from Xavier [left and center] the current D2 leader on the Honor Roll LJ won that event with a distance of 18' 00.50. Kimberly's Hanna Reichenberger won the TJ event [37' 03.00].

Eve Van Den Hey [Kaukauna, 2nd in LJ]

Ashley Vondrachek [4th in LJ] and
teammate Chloee Urban [3rd in LJ]

Allison Fischer [Little Chute, 6th in LJ]

4x800m Relay
The Kaukauna 4x8 opened the meet by running to a 9:51.76 in the 4x8 event. This broke the record of 9:55.74 set by Notre Dame Academy in 2015. Teammembers L-R: Alexa Kinas, Sydney Fauske, Megan Kennedy, and anchor Cailin Kinas.
Start of the 4x800m Relay
Leg 1 runners L-R: Paige Arent [Kimberly], Emily Jahnke [Freedom], Camille Broullire [Notre Dame Academy], and Alexa Kinas [Kaukauna]

Leg 2 & 1 runners Syndey Fauske and Alexa Kinas

Leg 3 and 2 runners Megan
and Sydney Fauske

Kaukauna achor Cailin Kinas

4x200m Relay
In the 4x2 relay Notre Dame Academy edged Freedom 1:49.28 to 1:49.40. On the left Notre Dame anchor [#6] Taylor Quinn is shown at the finish line with Kimberly's Haley Stannard [3rd] and Freedom's Samantha Edelburg [a close 2nd]. Notre Dame teammembers were: Anna Gruesen, Sydney Whitehouse, Danika Apple, and Taylor Quinn.

Freedom leadoff runner Anna Nason

Notre Dame Academy leg 3 and leg 2 runners
Sydney Whitehouse and Anna Gruesen

Notre Dame Academy anchor Taylor Quinn

4x100m Relay
West De Pere's 4x1 relay won that event by posting a 50.88. Runners L-R: Faith Kibbe, Lilah, Peterson, Jayna Schema, and anchor Eliza Aitken. Eliza Aiken also won the PV event with a vault of 11' 00. This set a new record breaking the old record of 10' 00 held by three vaulters [Sabrina Wolter-Xavier 2012, Sara DeGroot -Kimberly 2018, and Amber Tomazevic -Freedom 2019].
Fox Valley Lutheran was second in the 4x100m relay. FVA leg 3 runner Courtney Kufahl approaches FVA anchor Annalise Patchett. The final exchange photo above shows West De Pere's Eliza Aitken accelerating after getting the baton from Jayna Schema.
100m HH
In addition to winning the TJ event Kimberly senior Hanna Reichenberger won the 100m HH event [16.43]. In the finals above L-R: Sam Bartels [Freedom, 2nd, 16.80], Reichenberger, Kendall Diedrick [Kimberly, 4th], and Ellie Drews [West De Pere, 5th]. Not shown [lane 6] is Kimberly hurdler Madison Weyenberg who was 3rd.
100m Dash
Little Chute's Alyssa Hutcherson is shown above winning the 100m dash event [12.70]. Other runners shown in the finals are L-R: Emma Sippel [Kaukauna, 5th], Grace Hambel [Freedom, 2nd, 12.80], Hutcherson, Xavier's Kylie McCormick [4th], and Danika Apple [Notre Dame Academy, 3rd].
400m Dash
Freedom junior Grace Hambel [#4]raced to a clocking of 59.30 in the 400m dash event to set a new Gil Frank Invite record. The old record was set in 1980 by Kelly Ausloos from New Holstein [1:00.14]. Other runners shown above are Alexa Kinas [#6] [Kaukauna, 2nd] and West De Pere sprinter Jocelyn Thompson.

Sydney Bartels [freedom, 4th]

Emily Sharapata [West De Pere, 5th]

Macy Verhasselt [Freedom, 6th]

800m Run
Ninth grader Jillian Krueger [3rd above far left] from Kimberly won the 800m run event in 2:22.83. She edged Kaukauna's Kailin Kinas [2:22.96]. Kinas is sown above right [#1]. In the photo on the left L-R: Krueger, Kinas, and Freedom's Gwen Hinz [3rd]. In the photo above right Krueger and Kinas are shown approaching the finish line.
1600m Run
Kaukauna's Anna Fauske had a busy day winning the 1600m [5:12.49] and 3200m [11:19.97] on a very hot and humid day. 1600m runners shown above L-R: Danielle Van Grinsven [Kimberly, 2nd], Jessica Wilson [Little Chute, 4th], and Anna Fauske. Fauske broke the old record of 5:12.67 which she had set at the 2019 Gil Frank Invite.

Anna Faukse

Samantha Harke [Kimberly, 3rd]

Olivia Krahn [Fox Valley Lutheran, 5th]

300m LH
Sam Bartels from Freedom won the 300m LH in 47.85. In the early part of the race shown above Bartels is seen taking the lead. Also shown are Ellie Drews [West De Pere, 3rd] and Ellie Davis [Kaukauna, 7th].

Kendall Diedrick [Kimberly, 2nd]

Ellie Drews [West De Pere, 3rd]

Miranda Winkler [Kimberly, 4th]