Thursday, June 24, Friday, June 25 and Saturday, June 26, 2021: Veterans Memorial Field @ UW-La Crosse. Results: All | D1 | D2 | D3 | WC
Dash | Hurdle | Run | Relays | Jumps | Throws | Team | WC


Benton-Scales Mound-Shullsburg junior Kayci Martensen won all three distance events in Division 3 on a hot humid day on June 24 in La Crosse. Runners can gaze up at the scoreboard at the start and after each lap to get an idea of their placement during the distance races. Martensen was also the D2 Cross Country Champion in the regular 2020 season meet. The photo above shows the start of the 1600 D3 race. Unlike the Saturday meet which was run during rainy weather the D3 and D2 meets on Thursday and Friday were run in rain free conditions.
800m Run
D3 800m runners L-R: Sylvia Hansen [Gillett, 6th], Jenna Anders [Fall Creek, 18th], Brynlee Nelson [Fennimore, 2nd], Savannah Schley [Loyal, 4th], Anelise Egge [Kickapoo/La Farke, 5th], Olivia Stenzel [Sevastopol, 3rd], and Gold Medal winner Kayci Martensen [Benton-Scales Mound-Shullsburg, 2:16.59].
1600m Run
1600m D3 runners L-R: Molly Heidorn [Colfax, 2nd], Halle Van Horn [Random Lake, 6th], Marah Gruen [Royall, 4th], Abby Bartel [Weyauwega-Fremont, 3rd], winner Kayci Martensen [BSMS, 5:09.15], and Riverdale's Elizabeth Husker [7th].

Abby Bartel

Molly Heidorn

Kayci Martensen

Marah Gruen

Brooklyn Luebke ~ Manitowoc Lutheran [5th]

Halle Van Horn

3200m Run
Early in the meet events were delayed with concern of sprinters not having enough recovery time between prelims and finals. There was less than 15 minutes between the 800m and 3200m races. Nevertheless runners who had been in the 800m race put it all on the line for one of the last events of the meet. 3200m runners above L-R: Molly Heindorn [Colfax, 5th], Brooklyn Luebke [Manitowoc Lutheran, 4th], Marah Gruen [Royall, 3rd], Abby Bartel [Weyauwega-Fremont, 2nd], Hanna Martensen [BSMS, 7th], Kayci Martensen [BSMS, 1st, 11:16.70], and Bailey Peterson [Augusta, 6th].
800m Run
D2 800m runners L-R: Beverly Harper [Richland Center, 6th], Fran Peterson [Barron, 5th], Annika Elliott [Shorewood, 4th], Hailey Anchor [Wisconsin Dells, 3rd], Rachel Ulrich [Osceola, 2nd], and Gold Medal winner Nora Gremban [Northland Pines, 2:14.43].
1600m Run
Northland Pines ninth grader Nora Gremban won both the 800m and 1600m [4:56.95] D2 events.
1600m runners L-R: Mya Kizer [St. Croix Central, 6th], Eliana Malnourie [Hayward, 4th], Lilie Fouts [Xavier, 5th], Rachel Ulrich [Osceola, 3rd], and Silver Medal winner Mikaela Helling [Two Rivers].
3200m Run
3200m runners L-R: Lilie Fouts [Xavier, 2nd], Mya Kizer [St. Croix Central, 3rd], Madelynn Mcintrye [Brodhead/Juda, 4th], and Gold Medal winner Mikaela Helling [Two Rivers, 11:05.85].

Anna Gallagher [Two Rivers, 7th]

Katelyn Chadwick [Poynette, 6th]

Sophie Yetter [Winneconne, 5th]

800m Run
800m D1 runners L-R: Anna Fauske [Kaukauna, 4th], Rylee Coleman [Janesville Craig, 2nd], Kylie Finger [Oconomowoc, 6th], and Gold Medal winner Lydia Malecek [Onalaska, 2:11.36].

Lydia Malecek eyes the finish line

Julia Neustedter [Brookfield Central, 3rd]

Elizabeth Schmidt ~ Merrill [5th]
Even a downpour during the awards cannot
hide the satisfaction of a race well run

1600m Run
Scroll above and look at the weather condtions for the D2 1600m run on Friday. Saturday was a different story however. Runners and camera equipment alike were challenged. In the 1600m photos above Kaukauna's Anna Fauske [#1] is shown taking a lead as the rain came down with intensity. Fauske won the Gold Medal by posting a 4:56.54.
As the skies darkened and the clouds let loose with a torrential downpour the 1600m D1 runners completed lap 1. Track fans marveled at the toughness of the Wisconsin runners as they gave it their all despite the conditions. Runners L-R: Eva Kuehn [Wisconsin Lutheran, 7th], Dani Thompson [Sun Prairie, 10th], Kealan Mcnally [Whitefish Bay, 15th], Elizabeth Schmidt [Merrill, 6th], Molly Desotell [Notre Dame Academy, 3rd], Sarah Martens [Muskego, 8th], Amalia Malecek [#5, Onalaska, 4th], Kylie Finger [Oconomowoc, 5th], Hailey Novitski [Green Bay Preble, 14th], and Silver Medal winner Lauren Pansegrau [Middleton].
3200m Run
Top 2 D1 3200m Runners
Silver Medal winner Kora Malecek [Onalaska, 10:29.33] and Gold medal winner Lauren Pansegrau [Middleton, 10:21.60]
At the end of the meet there was a brief clearing of the skies before another rain front moved into the La Crosse area

Isabella Jacobsen ~ Menomonie [3rd]

Noelle Junig ~ Muskego [4th]

Dani Thompson ~ Sun Prairie [5th]

Molly Desotell ~ Notre Dame Acedemy [8th]

Lily Kriegel ~ Whitefish Bay [7th]

Summer Schuster ~ Slinger [6th]